Welcome, Unregistered.

Welcome to VTC talk Forums.
Remember Me?
Blue Jeans Network - cloud-based conferencing service
Our mission is to make video communications as easy and pervasive as audio communications, enabling more effective communication and collaboration anywhere and from practically any device.
www.bluejeans.com
Go Back Video conferencing / Telepresence Forum > VTC Hardware > CODEC > Cisco C20 Can't Call Cisco TelePresence?
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2016   #1
jerry@jonesgroup.net
VTC Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 237
jerry@jonesgroup.net - Has only 10 Tech Points
Question Cisco C20 Can't Call Cisco TelePresence?

I'm hoping somebody can explain why our Cisco C20s, attached to our corporate network, can't successfully communicate with our Cisco CTS telepresence system.

Our Cisco telepresence is managed by AT&T on the AT&T network. So, we use a web portal to control the telepresence system. We can tell our systems on the AT&T network to dial in. We can also tell our systems to dial out.

Each time we schedule a meeting, the AT&T web portal generates a calendar invitation that includes instructions for users external to the AT&T network to connect.

To my surprise, none of our Cisco C20 codecs can properly communicate with the Cisco telepresence system. They do connect. But they don't receive any video/audio.

Yet, our Polycom systems have no trouble whatsoever.

The only dialing difference that I note is that our Polycom systems allow one to enter a "meeting ID."

Is there a way to enter a "meeting ID" in the web interface of a Cisco C20?

The Cisco C20s can call into a Zoom virtual meeting room with no trouble. They can call into a Polycom virtual meeting room with no trouble. But the moment they call into an AT&T/Cisco telepresence virtual meeting room, no dice.

Any ideas?
jerry@jonesgroup.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2016   #2
Joe Vallender
Forum Moderator
Member of The VTCTalk Admin Team!!
 
Joe Vallender's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 576
Joe Vallender - Has over 50 Tech Points Joe Vallender - Has over 50 Tech Points
Default

It appears the audio/media channels are not being set up properly or are being blocked by a firewall or router access list. Are you able to get SIP traces from either/both ends to see the media channel negotiation requests?
Joe Vallender is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2016   #3
jerry@jonesgroup.net
VTC Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 237
jerry@jonesgroup.net - Has only 10 Tech Points
Default

Interesting. I think our national team can do the SIP tracing. I'll ask them.
jerry@jonesgroup.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2016   #4
streamnz
Super VTC Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 517
streamnz - Has over 50 Tech Points
Default

I'd have to agree with Joe. There is no limitation inherent to either system that would cause this. The limiting factor must therefore be in a network configuration of some sort. I'm assuming your C20s and Polycom systems are on the same network and using the same call control?
__________________
--
Peter Moodie
Collaboration Technology Group
Cisco Systems

The opinions expressed in this forum are my own views and not those of Cisco.
streamnz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2016   #5
jerry@jonesgroup.net
VTC Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 237
jerry@jonesgroup.net - Has only 10 Tech Points
Default

Yes. The Polycom systems are on the corporate network along with the Cisco C20 systems. When I dial out from these systems, I usually use a web browser to access their call controls.

The telepresence system (Cisco CTS) is on the AT&T network.

All Polycom units I've tested, including HDX-9000 and Group 500, work fine when they dial into the AT&T/Cisco virtual meeting room (VMR).

Only the Cisco C20s fail to send/receive video and audio. Our national team guys are more familiar with Polycom than Cisco. I wonder if they might've missed something when they configured the Cisco C20s. On the other hand, I also wonder if the problem might be on the AT&T/Cisco telepresence side of the equation.

The Cisco C20s can call into the corporate Polycom bridging platform (VMRs). No problem.

The Cisco C20s also call into Zoom virtual meeting rooms without issue.

Last edited by jerry@jonesgroup.net; 08-19-2016 at 09:46 AM.
jerry@jonesgroup.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2016   #6
Joe Vallender
Forum Moderator
Member of The VTCTalk Admin Team!!
 
Joe Vallender's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 576
Joe Vallender - Has over 50 Tech Points Joe Vallender - Has over 50 Tech Points
Default

Can you verify that the C20's audio/video does NOT reach the far end (outgoing from your network)? Is it possible that the QOS settings are such that causes the media packets to be blocked by a router?
Joe Vallender is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016   #7
jerry@jonesgroup.net
VTC Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 237
jerry@jonesgroup.net - Has only 10 Tech Points
Default

It's an interesting issue, but it's no longer in my hands. This is now being investigated by the national team.
jerry@jonesgroup.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2016   #8
gell0011
VTC Professional
 
gell0011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Darwin, Australia
Posts: 112
gell0011 - Has only 10 Tech Points
Default

Can you please share the answer on this when it is found.
Thanks

Des
gell0011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2017   #9
uadialej
Rookie Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
uadialej - Has only 10 Tech Points
Default

There is no limitation inherent to either system that would cause this.
uadialej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017   #10
jerry@jonesgroup.net
VTC Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 237
jerry@jonesgroup.net - Has only 10 Tech Points
Default

Now, I'm finding out about other limitations.

When I attempt to connect a Polycom HDX-9002, located on our internal network, to our Cisco Telepresence system (managed by AT&T on that firm's network), the Polycom HDX-9002 refuses to successfully connect and even locks up tight for several seconds before finally rebooting itself. This happens after I dial from the Polycom HDX-9002 into a virtual meeting room (VMR) provided by AT&T's scheduling portal. So, as a workaround, I can connect the two systems by having the Cisco Telepresence Room system call into a virtual meeting room (VMR) on our corporate network.

Any ideas what might cause a lockup like that?

Also, I'm finding that content sharing between Cisco Telepresence rooms (on AT&T network) does not function in either direction when connecting to small conference room systems on our internal network (Cisco/Polycom).
jerry@jonesgroup.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cisco TelePresence SX10 "all-in-one" codec call question Vedder10 CODEC 2 12-08-2014 01:41 PM
CISCO Telepresence Integration vs CMR Doug0915 Systems and solutions 2 05-22-2014 10:32 AM
Cisco's TelePresence Synch Balogh Balazs Integration 2 09-29-2011 07:51 AM
TMS with Cisco TelePresence oldoak Management Systems 4 02-11-2010 04:32 PM
what is cisco telepresence ? amolathalye CODEC 20 07-12-2008 12:51 PM

Register

Username
Password
Email
Close
3.8.4
Copyright 2017 VTCtalk.com
Copyright (c) 2004 - 2012, Crependo. All Rights Reserved